Tags » administration

sbookman wrote: University Libraries
The University Libraries at Old Dominion University (ODU) are made up of the Patricia W. and J. Douglas Perry Library, The F. Ludwig Diehn Composers Room, and the Elise N. Hofheimer Library. University Librarians Dorothy Pierce, 1937-1948 Louis (More)
sbookman wrote: Frank Batten
[caption id="attachment_307" align="alignleft" width="246"] Portrait of Frank Batten, circa 1962[/caption] Frank Batten served as a member of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion College, now Old Dominion University (ODU), from 1962 to 1973,  (More)
sbookman wrote: Dr. Hugo A. Owens
[caption id="attachment_296" align="alignright" width="300"] Dr. Hugo A. Owens Giving a Speech, circa 1990-1999[/caption] Dr. Hugo A. Owens served on the Board of Visitors at Old Dominion University (ODU) from 1990-1994, becoming the first Afri (More)
sbookman wrote: Alumni Association
[caption id="attachment_281" align="alignleft" width="300"] Alumni Association Officers, 1993-1994[/caption] The Alumni Association serves over 138,000 members by connecting alumni around the world with one another by sponsoring programs, activi (More)
[caption id="attachment_236" align="alignright" width="300"] Rollins Hall, circa 2000-2009[/caption] Located on Hampton Boulevard between William B. Song, Jr. Hall and Foreman Field, Alfred B. Rollins, Jr. Hall (familiarly Rollins Hall) is cur (More)
sbookman wrote: H. Edgar Timmerman
[caption id="attachment_216" align="alignright" width="331"] Portrait of H. Edgar Timmerman, circa 1930-1932[/caption] Appointed the first director of the Norfolk Division, H. Edgar Timmerman was just 29 when he came to Norfolk in the fall of 193 (More)
sbookman wrote: John R. Broderick
[caption id="attachment_213" align="alignright" width="300"] President John R. Broderick, left, with Tim Reid, 2015[/caption] John R. Broderick became the eighth president of Old Dominion University following the resignation of Roseann Runte in (More)
sbookman wrote: Roseann Runte
  [caption id="attachment_207" align="alignleft" width="200"] Introduction of Roseann Runte as President, 2001[/caption] Roseann Runte, president of Victoria University in Toronto, Canada, became Old Dominion University’s seventh and fi (More)
sbookman wrote: James V. Koch
[caption id="attachment_204" align="alignright" width="224"] Portrait of President Koch, circa 1990-1999[/caption] James V. Koch, president of the University of Montana, became the sixth president of Old Dominion University in 1990 after William (More)
sbookman wrote: William B. Spong, Jr.
When President Marchello resigned in 1988, the board of visitors selected William B. Spong Jr. to serve an 18-month term as interim president of Old Dominion University. A former US senator who also served in the Virginia General Assembly for 12 year (More)
sbookman wrote: Joseph M. Marchello
Joseph M. Marchello, chancellor of the University of Missouri at Rolla, became the fourth president of Old Dominion University upon the retirement of Alfred B. Rollins Jr. in 1985. President Marchello brought energy and ability to the position and s (More)
sbookman wrote: Alfred B. Rollins, Jr.
Alfred B. Rollins ,Jr. became the third president of Old Dominion University in 1976 upon the retirement of James L. Bugg, Jr. President Rollins expanded the university’s state and private funding, revamped student services, and added a new general (More)
sbookman wrote: James L. Bugg, Jr.
 James L. Bugg Jr. was personally recruited by Rector Frank Batten in 1969 to become president upon the retirement of Lewis W. Webb Jr. President Bugg’s mission was to transition Old Dominion from a college to a university. He was able to grow the (More)
sbookman wrote: Joseph E. Healy
Considered one of the founders of the Norfolk Division, Joseph E. Healy served as director of the William & Mary Extension in Norfolk from 1924 to 1930. In 1930, along with Norfolk attorney Robert Morton Hughes, Healy proposed the old Larchmo (More)
Julian Alvin Carroll (J.A.C.) Chandler served as President of William & Mary from 1919-1934. Along with Robert Morton Hughes, Chandler was one of the driving forces behind the formation of the Norfolk Division. Faced with the threat of Tidewater (More)
sbookman wrote: Old Larchmont School
[caption id="attachment_159" align="alignright" width="300"] Old Larchmont School, circa 1930-1939[/caption] The old Larchmont Elementary School building was the first facility at the Norfolk Division of the College of William & Mary. Located (More)